I’m sure that for ninety-nine percent of us, our parents never mentioned the words, “Eat Your Bee Pollen!” Perhaps, “Eat your broccoli; eat your brussel sprouts, or eat your spinach.”

Well I’m here to tell you to eat bee pollen. Am I crazy? Quite possibly, but I don’t think this is because I eat bee pollen. In fact, many cultures have regarded bee pollen as the most complete food. This sentiment can be traced in the Bible, other religious texts like The Vedas, and in Egyptian, Mesopotamian, and among native North American tribes.

The food is regarded as providing every essential vitamin and mineral along with the complete set of amino acids, fatty acids, proteins (it provides richer protein than animal protein) and the 11 essential carbohydrates. It is said to have the potential to end world hunger completely.

I discovered this exciting food by browsing Sevananda’s hygienic section. While curiously scanning the refrigerators, I came across a bottle of little yellow granules with the title “Organic Bee Pollen.” My instinctual thought was that it was a honey substitute and used as a sweetener. As I looked closer on the bottle and the context of where it was placed, I found out it was ingested as a food and considered to provide healing qualities.

I decided to ask the helpful man with full dreadlocks if he could give me some more insight into this new discovery of mine. He said that taken one to three times a day with a dosage of between one and two teaspoons, I would have every nutrient I needed to survive. I was suspicious and did research into the product and sure enough, it has been around for thousands of years and was in fact regarded medically as a full food.

So now, every morning, I take two spoonfuls before I meditate or do Shambavi and I can notice slight differences. My hair is shinier, I’m less hungry, and I have lots of energy. This could easily be my mind playing tricks on me to convince myself of the amount I spent being appropriate, but I don’t think my reaction is fabricated.

Anyway, if you’re curious, here’s a link or two backing up my discovery. Perhaps you should give it a try yourself. Good-bye synthetic vitamins.

Scroll Down on this one:

http://www.earthkeepers.net/horse/herbalProducts.html

http://www.shirleys-wellness-cafe.com/bee.htm

Currently Reading: The Norton Anthology of Poetry

On this Day: 1805- Paris Commune leader Louis Auguste Blanqui is born; 1851- American feminist writer Kate Chopin is born; 2008- Berkeley Critical Mass bike ride begins at 6PM